What I would give if 2K weren't the publishers

To start off, I am in no means an expert on game publishing and how much the game developers actually control in the marketing department and the release/pricing of DLC and micro-transactions.

Not sure how often this has been mentioned, but after recalling the whole Hunter “Season” pass fiasco (I should call it a scam, but I digress…) it made me really wish TRS partnered with a different publisher than 2K.

I play a lot of the NBA 2K series, so I have a lot of experience dealing with one of the most money hungry game companies I’ve seen. 2K has a history trying to milk its fan base for all the money they can, which include making it increasingly difficult to compete online without purchasing micro-transactions to buy packs or raising your MyPlayer’s attributes.

Anyways, to this day I am still playing Left 4 Dead (my favorite game of all time), and I was just dreaming of what Evolve could have been like if Valve published Evolve…

EDIT: I should have mentioned I stopped playing around the time the 2nd round of DLC hunters were released

Well tbh I don’t see that with this game at all. They’ve committed to evolve as a long term project, and there have been a lot of patches for this game. The problem, I think, had more to do with the actual game. Shit tutorials, a plethora of game breaking bugs, and horrendous balancing all did way more damage to Evolve than a poor marketing campaign, IMO.

Well to be completely fair…

2K BOUGHT Evolve. When THQ went under TRS scraped together as much capital as they could to possibly buy the rights to Evolve is nobody was interested but 2K bought them for $11 million, which is huge for an IP. Now from what I understand TRS is given a large amount of creative freedom, something a lot of Publishers wouldn’t have done.