The haters are simply following the Kubler Ross model


— As the reality of loss is hard to face, one of the first reactions to
follow the loss is Denial. The person is trying to shut out the reality
or magnitude of his/her situation, and begins to develop a false,
preferable reality.

— Once in the second stage, the individual recognizes that denial
cannot continue. Because of anger, the person is very difficult to care
for due to misplaced feelings of rage and envy. The person in question
can be angry with himself, or with others, or at a higher power, and
especially those who are close to them. Certain psychological responses
of a person undergoing this phase would be: “Why me? It’s not fair!”;
“How can this happen to me?”; '“Who is to blame?”; “Why would God let
this happen?”

— The third stage involves the hope that the individual can somehow
undo or avoid a cause of grief. Usually, the negotiation for an extended
life is made with a higher power in exchange for a reformed lifestyle.
Other times, they will use anything valuable as a bargaining chip
against another human agency to extend or prolong the life they live. In
essence, the individual cannot totally move into acceptance yet
acknowledges the fact that what has happened cannot be undone. People
facing less serious trauma can bargain or seek to negotiate a
compromise. For example, one may say “Can we still be friends?” when
facing a break-up. Bargaining rarely provides a sustainable solution,
especially if it is a matter of life or death.

Depression — “I’m so sad, why bother with anything?”; “I’m going to die soon so what’s the point?”; “I miss my loved one, why go on?”

During the fourth stage, the grieving person begins to understand the certainty of death. Much like the existential concept of The Void,
the idea of living becomes pointless. Things begin to lose meaning to
the griever. Because of this, the individual may become silent, refuse
visitors and spend much of the time crying and sullen. This process
allows the grieving person to disconnect from things of love and
affection, possibly in an attempt to avoid further trauma. Depression
could be referred to as the dress rehearsal for the ‘aftermath’. It is a
kind of acceptance with emotional attachment. It is natural to feel
sadness, regret, fear, and uncertainty when going through this stage.
Feeling those emotions shows that the person has begun to accept the
situation. Oftentimes, this is the ideal path to take, to find closure
and make their ways to the fifth step, Acceptance.

Acceptance — “It’s going to be okay.”; “I can’t fight it, I may as well prepare for it.”

In this last stage, individuals begin to come to terms with their
mortality or inevitable future, or that of a loved one, or other tragic
event. This stage varies according to the person’s situation. People
dying can enter this stage a long time before the people they leave
behind, who must pass through their own individual stages of dealing
with the grief. This typically comes with a calm, retrospective view for
the individual, and a stable mindset.

Seem familiar?


I just saw the Simpsons episode last night where he eats the poison fish and goes through all 5 stages in about 15 seconds :stuck_out_tongue:


Heh, it’s actually relatable. Funny that works that way.


I thought that was from an episode to do with link already dead or something.


You mean Majora’s Mask?

Yeah, that’s one theory.


At an approximate rate of 2.5 seconds per stage. Six stages. 2.5 x 6= 15. 6 divided by 2 is 3. 3 times 5 is 15, so remove the 5 from 2.5 for 2 and multiply the 2 with the 1 from removing the 5 in 15 and you get 2, then divide the 6 by 2 and you get 3…

Illuminatrolls Confirmed!