Planet Scanner Too Strong?

pc

So first off, let me introduce myself.

I’m Crimson, I’ve been playing Evolve since the Stage 1 release and a bit of the beta before that. I’m familiar with Legacy and the new Stage 2 update and have been comparing the changes between the two from the mindset of a game developer.

I studied game art and design in college but I will not say that it makes me superior in any way, just that I have a different way of looking at things. Apologies if I may come across as seeming superior.

With the Stage 2 update, there have been a lot of things that I’ve found frustrating or underwhelming as I’ve been playing but nothing has compared to the Planet Scanner ability for the Trapper.

Planet Scanner

• Every 30 seconds, the Trapper can scan the area and notify all Hunters of the “general” location of the monster

Personally I feel that this ability in itself ruins a good part of what made Evolve fun in Stage 1. Not only does it remove the stealth tactic for monsters, but because of the traversal ability buff for monsters, it also fails to solve the flee to 3 strategy for monsters (which I have been on the receiving end of a couple of times, and yes I was trying to cut off the monster).

The other issue I have with the ability is that it makes most of the unique tracking skills of each Trapper almost useless for most of the characters and makes them nothing more than crowd control bots with some damage. Jack and Griffin have no reason to bother placing a survey satellite/sound spike and Abe and Crow can use their abilities to help make the scan better but are not required to bother with them as the Planet Scanner does their job for them. Maggie is the only exception as both versions of Daisy provide a good buff for the hunters when tracking/fighting the monster (Vanilla gives a movement speed buff and Wasteland deals damage).

I feel that while the Planet Scanner was a step in the right direction, it’s simply too good right now.