MMORPGs and What do you expect? (Pen/paper development of Epic)

So, i have a concept in mind that i recently started brewing for a MMORPG ever since it dawned on me recently that nearly my entire life and past experiences naturally lead me towards game development. However, i have neither the funds nor equipment to do such, so this concept will be pen/paper until possible.

My idea is pretty much there and i already started building into the concept on pen/paper. however i wanted to ask on here for various input

What do you expect in a Fantasy MMORPG
What would you want in a MMORPG
What should an MMORPG want from you?
What do you think MMORPGs have currently done wrong (This can be towards a single example or a general example)

Feel free to add additional input and points you think should be involved!

Runescape | Other MMO recommendations?

MMORPG’s currently are EXTREMELY grindy. It’s extremely offputting. They lack a progression system which feels fluid, fun and natural.

That’s what I think they do wrong.

do you mind putting more detail into the “progression system” portion for me?

and thanks for the reply. i’m wanting to do some research into the concept early in order to adjust how somethings may plan out.

Well in most MMO’s I’ve played it’s just a grindfest. I don’t need to explain grinding, I think. :stuck_out_tongue:

To be fair most games have grindiness in them but MMO’s especially so. Trying to think of a game with a natural progression system in it and I have a few, but they’re not perfect examples.

I think its because of the RPG aspect involved. it drags out the playtime and makes you focus more time/effort into getting the strongest character you can make. add in quests and pvp and that also extends it. I think “grindiness” is an inherent trait for MMORPGs.

Feel free to give me those examples and some explanations if you want. Different people have different experiences.