Is the higher win rate in DLC hunters the result of selection bias?

I am a post-doctorate research scientist at Stanford University (who also loves Evolve) and I have been following the discussion on the high win rate for the new DLC hunters, and I am wondering whether the high win rate for DLC hunters could be the result of selection bias. What I mean by this is the people who are playing the DLC hunters may be a different sample of players from the total population of evolve players than the sample of players playing the non-DLC hunters.

If better players are more likely to buy the DLC (which I think is likely, because more casual players are less likely to buy the DLC), then we would expect a higher win rate from the DLC hunters than the non-DLC hunters even if the hunters themselves are perfectly balanced. To test this hypothesis, we should look at the win rate across hunters for only the people who have purchased the DLC. This would eliminate any potential selection bias. If the win rate is still higher in the DLC hunters, then nerfs are justified. But if the win rate is similar for DLC and non-DLC hunters in the subset of the population of players who have purchased the DLC, then the difference is the result of selection bias, and no nerfs are warranted.

Like they have with much of their other telemetry, they’ll likely look at the players above a certain level or even with a certain amount of time played to determine balance changes. That might not necessarily mean ‘better’ but at least more experienced players are being used to make the changes.

In other words, whether or not the person has the content, they’ll be looking at everyone above for instance level 30 to determine what’s winning more or less than the average.