I'm currently studying English and I need some advices from US and British users

@SledgePainter is helping me out, but even she is puzzled with some… let’s just say weird sentence construction. For example, in my English textbook there is this weird sentence:

If something dramatic has ever happened to you, how did you react?

This to me and to Sledge sounds wrong. Shouldn’t the question look like this instead:

If something dramatic would ever happened to you, how would you react?

Another thing, and this made me wanting to punch someone, is this nonsense: There is a dialogue between person A and person B about bullying and the task is to correctly fill verbs in brackets in either past simple or present perfect. Person A asks:

Did you know that she was being bullied?

But the same person later on says this:

If the bully doesn’t stop, she’s going to publish their name and report them to police.

That makes literally no sense, as they contradict themselves! How they hell am I suppose to learn English like this?!

Learning English is a pile of misery anyway because there’s grammar rules, but there’s also none at the same time because fuck rules actually lmao

Also, for a conversation to go from

To

Doesn’t sound that weird. Maybe it sounds weirder with the other half of the conversation?

First sentence suggests it already happened and stopped. The latter suggests it is still ongoing.

1 Like

This question makes sense as it is. The alternate question you proposed has a different meaning.

This question is asking about your past experiences. The question you and Sledge proposed is asking about a hypothetical future possibility.

Correct answers to the question posed by the book could look like:

• Unfortunately, nothing dramatic has ever happened in my life.
  • Once, I was pounced by a Stage 2 Goliath. I was terrified and thought I would certainly die, but I called out to my team for help. They arrived in moments and attacked the monster, saving my life.
9 Likes