If the Alpha is 2.5 months away from release, will there be time for good QA?

I’m no expert on timetables for games or even experienced in Alphas/Betas in general, but I am a little concerned that holding the first Alpha stage so close to release will not allow for good implementation of the player feedback that is so critical to a game’s success. Does anyone else share my concerns?

i also wonder that, why did they not put the alpha out when e3 was done? would have been a better time for QnAs

Dont forget they are still doing a Beta for the xbox one in the fall

It also seems really weird that the Alpha is PC only, and the Beta is Xbone only. Maybe they’re just playing with the Alpha/Beta titles while both tests serve the same purpose, but still. Weird. Time will tell.

Well remember they have been playing this game for 3 years, and they are all gamers. They also have let the public play since PAX east and I am sure they have gathered valuable info and feedback since then. 2.5 months is actually a decent amount of time for feedback. I think people are used to these extremely extended fake betas, which often require payment to get it in and in the end are a slimy way to unofficially release a buggy game and avoid reviews.

Basically this.

I think people are taking the term “alpha” too literally, we’re mostly playing a content restricted build that they have been working on for a while now since it’s the first two maps and the first tier hunters and Goliath.

Yeah. Same with Destiny Alpha, it was a chunk of the final game - a really polished one at that. There’s different types of alphas, depends on the developer and the team behind it. Like, Steam Early Access titles can really just be throwing you version 0.01 blatantly at you and the future of its release could be 3-6 years later Stares at DayZ - The Forest is another good example, although the people behind The Forest are doing pretty great work for such a small team in a short amount of time since 0.01.