I don't know if this was mentioned about the carnivorous plants before, but

If the plants on Shear were there for a while, how come they can only eat humans?

Because gameplay mechanics.

Well there is that.
It’s just you’d think they could survive on striders or something as well.

They don’t need to eat anything, they’re still plants. They only need light and water.

Of course.
But- Consider this.
I am not an expert on evolve, but the colonists have been on the planet for ROUGHLY around 100 years (Give or take 40) Would this be enough time for an alien species of plant to adapt a carnivorous diet of ONLY the new species that has arrived on a planet. Perhaps, as we can’t assume a whole lot about a species of plant that doesn’t exist. Or maybe the plants were originally preying on the small animals of Shear and once humans colonized the planet the plants changed their diet to human only.

Upon some very quick research, it appears many of Earths’ carnivorous plants’ main diets are animals, as they are insufficient light-gatherers and need the extra energy from their prey. Also, many areas in Shear, there are large tree canopies that could block sun from the plants on the ground, which could increase the amount of animals these plants need to eat.

And since these plants on Shear have only been observed eating humans, shouldn’t they be on their way to being endangered? Most colonists on Shear are susceptible to being eaten by monsters, and that would leave the plants with little sunlight.

I can’t believe I just typed this much about carnivorous plants.
Please excuse any errors.

Yes and no. The true way of adapting would be to take both life and the regular sun and water. If anything, they use both as an energy source to stay alive.

Sorry.
When talking about the adapting, I did mean them using sun and water as well animals.
Because they are plants!