Hunter’s Guide to the Evolve Forum (Trust Levels)


Trust Levels

Trust Levels represent the different castes users fall into, from newly registered to Leader.

They give a good indication of how much the user has contributed to the forum and it’s wellbeing, and what powers they have.

The five trust levels are:
0 (New) → 1 (Basic) → 2 (Member) → 3 (Regular) → 4 (Leader)

##Users at trust level 0 cannot:
Send private messages to other users
Reply as new topic in the right gutter (UI removed)
Flag posts
Post any images
Post any attachments
Post more than 2 hyperlinks in a post
Have actual links in the ‘about me’ field of their profile (will be silently and temporarily converted to plain text)
Mention more than 2 users in a post

If a user stays long enough to participate in the forum, Discourse (the forum software) now trusts them as a basic user.

##They can get to trust level 1 (basic) by:

Entering at least 5 topics
Reading at least 30 posts
Spend a total of 10 minutes reading posts

##Users at trust level 1 can:

Use all core Discourse functions
Upload images and attachments
Edit wiki posts
Flag posts
Have all new user restrictions removed

Members (trust level 2) keep coming back to the site, and have participated long enough to earn complete citizenship.

##They can get to trust level 2 by:

Visiting at least 15 days, not sequentially
Casting at least 1 like
Receiving at least 1 like
Replying to at least 3 different topics
Entering at least 20 topics
Reading at least 100 posts
Spend a total of 60 minutes reading posts

##Users at trust level 2 can:

Use the “Invite others to this topic” button for one-click onboarding of new users to participate in topics
Invite outside users to PMs, making a group PM
Daily like limit increased by 1.5 ×

Regulars (trust level 3) are active readers and reliable contributors over long periods of time.

##They can get to trust level 3 by:

This is time and activity based, unlike the previous levels. In the last 100 days:

Must have visited at least 50% of days
Must have replied to at least 10 different topics
Of topics created in the last 100 days, must have viewed 25%
Of posts created in the last 100 days, must have read 25%
Must have received 20 likes, and given 30 likes.*
Must not have received more than 5 spam or offensive flags (with unique posts and unique users for each, confirmed by a moderator)
Must not have been suspended

  • These likes must be across a minimum number of different users (1/5 the number), across a minimum number of different days (1/4 the number). Likes cannot be from PMs.

Unlike other trust levels, you can lose trust level 3 status. If you dip below these requirements, whether from flagging or the passage of time, you will be demoted to Member. However, in order to avoid constant promotion/demotion situations, there is a 2-week grace period immediately after gaining Trust Level 3 during which you will not be demoted.

##Users at trust level 3 can…
Recategorize and rename topics
Set their title as Regular

##Trust Level 4 (Leader)
This trust level cannot be earned by meeting certain requirements. This is the maximum Trust Level, and applies to developers, Leaders and Moderators.

To earn Level 4, you must be an outstanding member of the community, with a clean record, a positive attitude and the will to help. Such users will be noticed by Leaders and Moderators, who will then discuss the possibility of Leader promotion, then make a collaborative decision.

Becoming a Leader means you are expected to help keep the forum regulated and tidy using your powers and set a good example to others.

TRS Forum Guide - New User Help
unlisted #2
closed #3

Disclaimer: The above content is the work of The_CreatorX

Press to go back to main topic

1 Like