How does one get into gaming now a days

I’ve seen the wanted posted with a few postings still open, so how does someone get the talent to work for a studio? Where does one learn these program requirements? Is all ur talent in Cali too or do u have people who are remote?

There’s already been a similar topic to this, but here’s some posts from them that might help explain things a bit

What happened to EvolveWiki :frowning:

Yeah I was wondering that myself the other day, their Wiki is a little different to the current one. I wonder if it’s been updated though? :frowning:

I’ve been working in the industry for almost 4 years now. If you have specific questions fire away…

The short answer is you need a skill set… What can you bring to the table? Art, coding, design? There are a bunch of jobs. I went to a special school to learn how to do 3D art and they helped me design a portfolio and stuff. Mostly you have to work hard and prove that you can work fast and produce quality work.

Every studio is different, I know some studios that have 2/3s of their workforce remotely. I know others that are 100% there in house. We’re mostly here at TRS, but there are some third parties who work with us remotely.

Like @TEKNOC said, you need a skill to bring to the table. Being able to handle a large variety of things (a.k.a. a flat or broad skillset) has it’s positives and negatives. Most (but not all) studios will prefer you are highly specialized in something. There are a lot of great programs out there to teach you the fundamentals. Networking is also important as it’s what normally lands the interview. However, skill and personality are what get you the job.

Do you have a gaming related-degree?

Na I have a science degree and a boatload of IT infrastructure experience.

I was asking primarily for others who might be interested too.