Future of Evolve, Free-to-Play? Or something else..?

This is what I studied for, and this is also the way we analyse problems regarding a company or product. This is also “me” who’s writing so expect this post to be long. Want a TL:DR version, read the title :stuck_out_tongue:

Also know that this is NOT a short term fix. This is going to take time and is a concept for the future of Evolve. It’s either this, or letting the game die. I think the latest this should be implemented is a year from launch max. It’s clear that the community cannot save this game on their own. It’s something that TRS and 2K need to do now.

With 400 hours of game-time on the clock, being top 200 world globally and still having a TON of fun with this game, the player base is creeping on my back with every ticking second. It’s Tuesday 16th of April today and the amount of players playing at this moment, almost 2 moths after release are at 900 players for PC (down from 20.000+ at first). I absolutely have no clue how the player-base is looking on consoles, but at this point it doesn’t matter. We need to start discussing what to do with our beloved game and how Evolve will survive the bad start it got. Because believe it or not, this game is dying and the playerbase, even the most loyal, is bleeding hard. I tried keeping my eyes closed, but at this point I can’t, not any more.

Evolve was in great luck placing itself just in front of all the other huge releases. Only a few games were released these two months and this game is one of the better ones. With GTA 5 released and The Witcher 3 on the horizon, Evolve is going to lose a lot more players. I feel like the DLC is a fix to stop the bleeding for a week or two, but it kept on bleeding none the less.