Canine spleen cancer

I have recently found out that my companion of seven years has spleen cancer.

He’s a German Shepherd, big guy, and normally I’d be completely 200% against sharing photos but this calls for it I guess.

He’s a good dog. Extremely intelligent, loyal, pretty fun to have around too.

Point is, I wanted to ask, since it’s quite common in dogs:

Have any of you had a pet with spleen cancer that’s survived with minimal pain?

I don’t want to lose him, but vet recommends that I think about putting him down.

So I thought I’d ask if anyone with prior experience could offer advice in choosing the best option for him.

Thanks.

I am so very sorry to hear.

I would think any sort of cancer would be painful to live with, but I’ve had no experience with it myself. That’s a tough decision. :frowning:

I think putting him down would be fine, he’s been happy his whole life and since I’ll be with him in the end he’ll die happy too.

But I don’t want to rob him of the chance that he could make a good recovery and spend another few years equally happy.

It’s a risk I’m not too keen on taking, so I thought I’d ask around if anyone else has had a dog recover well and painlessly from something like this.

We’ve had a few members that have had to put pets down. Hopefully they’ll see your post and offer some more insight.

Reading through this I was holding one of my dogs, then she heard a dog barking, then she was barking and left to go outside so that ruined the moment.

I am sorry to hear about your Dog, she really wants to know what’s in the bowl doesn’t she? Haha
I am only 14 years old, and there is no way I could go through putting down any dog at all.

I know it’s a little selfish of me but I kind of hope they do.

Nah, there was a creak from that direction so he looked. Always alert, that one. Good dog.

Fixed it :stuck_out_tongue:

Lost my dog to cancer a few months ago. It really sucked, and it still does, but in the end, you’ll get used to it