A Goliath Traversal Mia Culpa

Man, this Saturday during my live stream I was one salty mofo! I mean I was seriously infused with brine. I’m a Goliath player and I read the patch notes. The traversal change seemed innocuous to me at the time. Then, when I felt it, I was really shocked by how much it seemed to impact my game.

I tweeted a few comments, nothing to acerbic, I am a dev myself and I understand what it is like to be on the other end of it. I did take some time to try and adapt my play style and initial laodout, but nothing seemed to be working at the time. I was missing a key component, which I never considered as a reason for the change in the first place.

People had been telling me for a while that i should be using Leap Smash and Charge more as traversal abilities. I always dismissed it, because I didn’t feel like I needed it to be mobile or to win. I liked having my abilities ready for combat, not for moving. it seemed like overkill. Well, I guess it was overkill. I can only imagine how powerful Goliath would have felt if I incorporated that into my play style prior to the traversal change.

I played from 6pm to 4am - it was a long, epic stream. And once I decided to try incorporating that, I felt like my old self again. I could actually traverse and the losing streak abruptly ended. While I still feel like I can’t move at times, it is way better. Clearly this tactic combined with the old balance was probably really powerful.

In the end, I am glad that I never incorporated the play style. Because if I had, I would not have been able to feel like I was my old self again as Goliath, because the ceiling would have been lowered instead of me having the head room to climb back up toward it. So, lucky me for being stubborn.